Another Foster Home

foster home
Another Foster Home  

The next foster family I remember was the Cain Family. This home was run by two sisters: Ms. Jean Cain and her sister, Judy. Both of them were strict disciplinarians. I would not say that they were abusive, but Ned, her former husband was very abusive.

I really didn’t like this home at first, but I later learned that it was not a terrible home. At least not at first. Ms. Cain was a Seventh Day Adventist, so early on I learned about God.

Although I do not agree with all of their doctrine, this gave me an empowerment that I had not felt before.

Judy on the other hand was a naturalist, and loved creation. She was very good to me. I loved going over to their home, and helping her. And for the fact she would let me do things, that I could not do at Mom Jean’s.

We would take family vacations at least once a year, and even though it was a strict home, it was a loving home as well. During a lot of the vacations, I would stay with my Aunt Judy and Uncle Jim.

My favorite Sister George Ann would later remark, “If you really knew Judy, she would not be your favorite Aunt!” I replied back, ” That is the advantage of not knowing everything about everyone, one is able to look beyond faults, because you do not know there are any!” When we do not know everything about everyone, it does break down barriers.

Most of the men in my life were abusive, but I learned to love and respect women at an early age, it was the mothers, and aunts in my life that believed in me the most, and would be instrumental in much of my success later on in life.

Life was hard for me, and I had to work hard for everything I earned. That is the problem with many young people of today; they want everything handed to them on a silver platter.

One of the true signs of a great friendship is this: A friend that knows us so well, and understands our strengths and weaknesses and still loves us.

As a small child, I did not understand why everything happened to me as it did but somehow, I knew God was with me every step of the way. I love hearing the stories my Mom Jean would tell me.

One of my favorite channel is the Universal Channel, there is a commercial about character. What is character, is it taking care of business, or taking care of your own; is it treating people the way they deserve? Character is what we feel and what we do.

My best friend was Eric and he was a black boy, and in the sixties, I did not know that this is a bad thing. We played together all the time, so I did not thing anything of it, I gave my friend a drink of water.

My Grandfather knew I played with him, but I did not know nor understand his hatred of blacks. That night I was beaten very severely for giving my friend a drink, but we still remained friends.

God gave me revenge years later. I did not want wish anyone to be hurt or killed, but the Lord required his soul one night. He was screaming profanities as he was dying, but I was praying for him that entire time. I have tried to love everyone for I try to see the good in all people.

For many years I was afraid of dying. I remembered this all through my life and when it is time for me to go, I pray that I would not be screaming profanities, but proclaim the Words of Paul, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, and I have kept the faith.

Seeing how God continues to be with me each day, which I will be continuing to write about, I have a new lease on life and the ministry Christ has entrusted to me. Praise be the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

 

2 thoughts on “Another Foster Home

Leave a Reply

